If you are charged with “hit-and-run” after a traffic accident in North Carolina, it’s a serious charge, and you will need to be represented by an experienced Winston-Salem hit-and-run attorney at LAWSMITH, the Law Offices of J. Scott Smith.

If you leave the scene of a traffic accident without disclosing the required information to the other driver, you could be charged with hit-and-run. Depending on the details, a conviction for hit-and-run could mean a license suspension or revocation – or serious criminal charges.


How a hit-and-run is handled by the authorities will depend on a number of variables. How much property damage was inflicted? Was anyone injured or killed? Were alcohol or drugs involved? If you are charged in any type of hit-and-run incident, you’ll need a good lawyer’s help at once.

North Carolina law obligates every driver who’s involved in a traffic accident to stop, provide assistance if necessary, and disclose contact and insurance information to the other party or parties involved.

What Are Drivers Required To Do After A Traffic Accident?

Even if the only thing damaged is property, a driver must stop, put his or her contact and insurance information in writing, and place the written information where the other party or parties will find it. The failure to fulfill this obligation can trigger a hit-and-run charge.

The penalties for a hit-and-run conviction in North Carolina will be based on the details of the accident and the defendant’s prior criminal record. If only property has been damaged, the charge is a misdemeanor punishable upon conviction with a fine and up to 120 days in jail.

What’s The Most Serious Hit-and-run Charge In Our State?

However, if hit-and-run is the charge after an accident with “serious bodily injury,” the penalties for a conviction will be substantially harsher. A Class H felony hit-and-run conviction is punishable with up to 39 months in prison.

If you’re accused of hit-and-run – after any type of traffic crash – consult an experienced Winston-Salem hit-and-run attorney at LAWSMITH, the Law Offices of J. Scott Smith, at once. We’ve successfully defended scores of clients charged with hit-and-run and similar crimes.


Winston-Salem defense attorney J. Scott Smith and the legal team at LAWSMITH will explain your legal options and rights, challenge the state’s case against you, and fight aggressively for the best possible resolution to a hit-and-run charge.

If you’re innocent, we will fight aggressively to have the charge against you dismissed or to have a jury return an acquittal. If the case against you is strong and a conviction is likely, we may recommend negotiating for and accepting a plea bargain – a guilty plea to a lesser offense.

Every LAWSMITH client is provided with sound, trustworthy legal advice and dedicated, personalized defense representation. We are the attorneys that hundreds of clients in the Winston-Salem or Greensboro area have turned to and trusted – and they’re glad they did.

Here’s How You Can Reach Us At Lawsmith

If you are charged with hit-and-run, contact us at once by calling 336-306-8644, or complete the contact form here on our website, and we’ll get back with you promptly.

Our offices are in Winston-Salem at 250 Executive Park Boulevard, Suite 100, and in Greensboro at 204 Muirs Chapel Road, Suite 104. Don’t delay. If you need legal help regarding a hit-and-run incident anywhere in North Carolina, contact us today.