If you are charged with assault – or with assault and battery – in the state of North Carolina, contact LAWSMITH, the Law Offices of J. Scott Smith, at once. Your future – and possibly even your freedom – will be at stake.
Assault may be charged if someone attempts to commit assault and battery or if someone uses a show of force to indicate that assault and battery are imminent. Assault is any threat to use or any attempt to use violence against someone else. It’s usually considered a Class 2 misdemeanor.
HOW ARE ASSAULT AND BATTERY CHARGED IN NORTH CAROLINA?
Assault and battery is the charge when someone commits violence that physically injures another person. Assault and battery is usually charged as a Class 2 misdemeanor in this state, but the following aggravating factors can make an assault and battery charge a Class A1 misdemeanor:
- A deadly weapon was used or brandished during the assault or the assault and battery.
- The assault and battery inflicted an injury that required medical treatment.
- The assault or assault and battery was also a crime of domestic violence.
- The assault or assault and battery were against a woman (if the defendant is male); a child under 12; a school employee or volunteer on-duty; a state employee or law enforcement officer on-duty; or a public transportation operator or a security guard on-duty.
Additionally, assault or assault and battery against an on-duty sports official is considered a Class 1 misdemeanor in North Carolina.
HOW ARE ASSAULT AND BATTERY CONVICTIONS PENALIZED IN THIS STATE?
A first-offense Class 2 misdemeanor in North Carolina is punishable upon conviction with up to thirty days in jail and a fine of up to $1,000. A first-offense Class 1 misdemeanor is punishable with a fine and up to 120 days in jail.
A first-offense Class A1 misdemeanor is punishable with a fine and up to 150 days in jail. A conviction for any of these charges can also be penalized with a term of probation. However, several legal defenses are available if you are charged with assault or with assault and battery.
HOW WILL A GOOD CRIMINAL LAWYER DEFEND YOU?
If you acted out of necessity, in self-defense, or in the defense of others, you acted legally, and an experienced defense attorney can explain your actions to a judge and jury.
It’s also possible in these cases that a defendant has been misidentified or falsely accused. An experienced Winston-Salem assault and battery lawyer at LAWSMITH will review every detail of your case and will mount an effective, appropriate, and aggressive defense on your behalf.
CALL LAWSMITH IF YOU’RE CHARGED WITH ASSAULT AND BATTERY
Each of our clients at LAWSMITH, the Law Offices of J. Scott Smith, is treated with respect and personal dignity. If you are charged with assault – or with assault and battery – an experienced Winston-Salem assault and battery lawyer can help.
Call LAWSMITH at 336-306-8644 or complete the contact form right here on our website. We will get back to you promptly. We are committed to fighting for justice on your behalf.
Our offices are located at 250 Executive Park Boulevard, Suite 100 in Winston-Salem and at 204 Muirs Chapel Road, Suite 104 in Greensboro. If you need legal help, don’t wait. Reach out to us today.